2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Dave Sittler

Inducted: 2005

DAVE SITTLER (1945- ) sets the state standard for quality sports writing. His career began at the Lincoln Journal Star as reporter and then sports reporter for nine years during and after he earned a journalism degree from the University of Nebraska. He served in the U.S. Army in 1969-71. He was sportswriter and columnist at The Daily Oklahoman seven years, The Tulsa Tribune seven, and The Omaha World Herald six, before joining The Tulsa World in 1999. He’s won numerous state and national writing awards and has been named Sportswriter of the Year for Oklahoma five times by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. He has served as president of many organizations.

Dave Sittler
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall