2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

James A. Killackey

Inducted: 2005

JAMES A. KILLACKEY (1948-2018) loved reporting on complex issues. A native of Chicago, his career started at The Tulsa Tribune in 1971 and he served in the U.S. Army Reserves. He was managing editor of the Oklahoma Daily while working on his OU master’s degree. He joined The Daily Oklahoman as reporter in 1972 and started covering education in 1976. He was a Ford Foundation fellow in education reporting in 1976. He was president of the National Education Writers Association in 1987-1988. He was also health and medical writer. He was a member of the Association of Health Care Journalists and president of the OU Journalism Alumni board. Killackey won more than 60 local, state and national writing awards.

James A. Killackey
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall