Joan Gilmore donates $30,000 for future hall of fame museum, scholarship

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

John D. Montgomery

Inducted: 2005

JOHN D. MONTGOMERY (1954- ) has worked for a multitude of Oklahoma newspapers, beginning in his hometown at the Hobart Daily Democrat-Chief, as well as the Kiowa County Star Review, The Daily Oklahoman, The Oklahoma City Times, The Tulsa World and the Madill Record. He became one of the youngest publishers in the state when he purchased an interest in the Johnston County Capital-Democrat in 1977. He purchased the Purcell Register with his wife Gracie in 1990. He earned a BA from the OU School of Journalism. He has served on every committee of the Oklahoma Press Association and was elected the youngest OPA president in 1992-93. A member of NNA, he’s been Oklahoma State chairman since 1996, and joined the board of directors in 2004.

John D. Montgomery
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

Assistant hall of fame director named

Assistant hall of fame director named

Amber Loomis was recently named as assistant hall of fame director. She will help Director Joe Hight in planning for the hall of fame induction and other activities on a contractual basis. Loomis, in her role as UCentral administrative specialist, has already worked...

read more