2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

David Dary

Inducted: 2007

DAVID DARY (1934-2018), a native of Manhattan, Kansas, received degrees from Kansas State University and the University of Kansas. He worked as a journalist in Kansas, Texas and Washington, D.C, with CBS News and NBC News. He taught journalism at KU for 20 years before becoming head of what is now the OU Gaylord College of Journalism. During eleven years at OU he rebuilt the program and obtained a gift of $22 million from the Gaylord family that elevated the OU J-school to a free-standing college and gave the program a new journalism building. He is the author of 20 books on the American West including a history of the Oklahoma Publishing Company and the Gaylord family. He retired in 2000 as an emeritus professor at OU.

David Dary
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall