2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Gracie Montgomery

Inducted: 2007

GRACIE MONTGOMERY (1956- ) is co-publisher of The Purcell Register. She has served on nearly every Oklahoma Press Association committee, and in 2005-2006 became the third woman OPA president. She and her husband John D. are the first husband-wife team to have served as its presidents. She earned a BBA degree from OU in 1978. She began her journalism career at The Johnston County Capital-Democrat in 1979. She was appointed by Supreme Court Chief Justice Marion Opala to the original Oklahoma Ethics Commission. She’s a board member and active in numerous Purcell civic groups.

Gracie Montgomery
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall