Mike Sowell

Inducted: 2007

MIKE SOWELL (1948- ), associate professor of journalism at the Oklahoma State University School of Journalism and Broadcasting since 1998, earned his BA in journalism from OU and his MS from OSU. He started his journalism career in 1971 as reporter and editor of the U.S. Army Berlin Observer, and was sportswriter and assistant sports editor at The EI Paso Times from 1974-1977. He joined The Tulsa Tribune as sports columnist, winning numerous awards, including APSE’s national column writing contest, and was Sports Editor from 1981-1992. He has written three books, two of them NY Times Notable Books of the Year, and the history of baseball for Collier’s Encyclopedia. He was editor of college sports magazines for First Down Publications in Tulsa.