Bill Harper

Inducted: 2008

BILL HARPER (1943- ) walked into a newspaper office in 1956. He’s been hanging around ever since, filling roles from paperboy to pressman to writer and everything in between. After attending Tulsa University, he joined the Tulsa Tribune in 1964 as sports news desk editor, covered high school and college and wrote a column, becoming administrative sports editor. He went to the Tulsa World in 1992 as operations editor, overseeing production, special event coverage, computers and design. He won Associated Press awards for best sports writing and from the Oklahoma Coaches Association and the Oklahoma National Guard. He has conducted layout and design workshops for the Oklahoma Press Association, Arkansas’ APME and the SNPA. A native of Claremore, he has officiated high school sports for 30 years, including state football championships and All-State baseball. He loves golf.