2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Donna Barron Evers

Inducted: 2008

DONNA BARRON EVERS (1946- ), a Union City native, earned bachelor’s, master’s and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Oklahoma, where she was Phi Beta Kappa. She began her journalism career in 1968 at the Pauls Valley Daily Democrat in between degrees. She was a director of public relations before joining the Lawton Constitution in 1970 where she was a reporter and editor. Evers began teaching at Cameron University in 1982 where she was adviser of the weekly campus newspaper, The Collegian, which consistently won top national and state honors. She taught many journalism courses at Cameron and was Professor of the Year in 1993. She retired in 2001 as an emeritus professor at Cameron. She is a voracious reader and an avid fan of women’s basketball.

Donna Barron Evers
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall