2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Gerry Bonds

Inducted: 2008

GERRY BONDS (1944- ) earned a bachelor’s degree from City University of New York and a master’s from Western Connecticut University, teaching high school in New York and Connecticut. She began her journalism career at WTNH-TV in Connecticut as news anchor, winning state and national awards. Bonds moved to Oklahoma City in 1984 as prime time news anchor at KOCO-TV for nine years. After working in corporate communications, she joined OETA-TV in 1996 as co-anchor of the nightly Oklahoma News Report, the only statewide news report. She hosts the weekly Oklahoma City Metro program which has earned an Emmy award and two nominations. She has won a multitude of awards for her journalism and volunteer activities including the 2006 Governor’s Arts Award for media.

Gerry Bonds
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall