Lindel G. Hutson

Inducted: 2008

LINDEL G. HUTSON (1946- ) joined The Associated Press in Little Rock in 1972 as reporter and editor. He began his journalism career at the Jonesboro Sun in Arkansas while earning a journalism degree at Arkansas State University. He worked as a U.S. Army journalist in the U.S. and with NATO in Europe, and as city hall reporter at the Texarkana Gazette. In 1977, AP transferred him to the national editing desk in New York City. AP promoted him to News Editor in Indiana in 1980, and Oklahoma Chief of Bureau in 1989. He is a founder, former president and board member of FOI Oklahoma, and works with the Oklahoma AP editor’s group, AP/ONE, in promoting and sponsoring journalism activities and excellence.