2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Paul B. Southerland

Inducted: 2008

PAUL B. SOUTHERLAND (1956- ) has been a staff photographer for The Oklahoman since 1975. A native of Lawton, he attended the University of Oklahoma as a McMahon Scholar in journalism. While at OU he owned and operated a photo agency supplying news photos of students to newspapers around the nation. He has worked for the Oklahoma Daily, the Oklahoma City Times, and The Daily Oklahoman, winning over 100 national, state and regional photo and reporting awards including Newspaper Photographer of the Year and News Photo of the Year from the Oklahoma Press Association, and Newspaper Photo of the Year from the Oklahoma Associated Press Managing Editors Association. He is a past officer in the Oklahoma News Photographers Association and a 32-year member of the National Press Photographers Association.

Paul B. Southerland
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall