Joan Gilmore donates $30,000 for future hall of fame museum, scholarship

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Lewis Ferguson

Inducted: 2009

LEWIS FERGUSON (1934-2017), a Ponca City native, graduated in journalism from the University of Oklahoma in 1956. A McMahon scholar, he earned a master’s degree from OU in 1964. He was sports and wire editor of The Ponca City News and sports announcer for WBBZ in 1958-60. He joined The Associated Press in 1960 in Oklahoma City, working in Sioux Falls, Minneapolis and Kansas City before becoming correspondent in charge of AP’s Topeka Statehouse bureau in 1970. Over 29 years, he covered six Kansas governors, 29 legislative sessions and nine national political conventions. He received the OU Journalism Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1996. In retirement, he served four years on the Kansas Board of Regents before moving back to Ponca City in 2005.

Lewis Ferguson
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

Assistant hall of fame director named

Assistant hall of fame director named

Amber Loomis was recently named as assistant hall of fame director. She will help Director Joe Hight in planning for the hall of fame induction and other activities on a contractual basis. Loomis, in her role as UCentral administrative specialist, has already worked...

read more