Sharon K. Dowell

Inducted: 2009

SHARON K. DOWELL (1947- ) retired in 2008 as the longest-serving food editor in The Oklahoman’s history. She graduated from Iowa State University in 1972 where she was a campus reporter for the Ames Daily Tribune. She worked at the Perry (Iowa) Daily Chief and the Daily Law Journal Record in Oklahoma City before joining The Oklahoman in 1974-1979 as a reporter. She worked as a writer for World Neighbors, the Oklahoma Water Resources Board and the State Fair of Oklahoma before rejoining The Oklahoman. She was promoted to food editor in 1982. She created two state culinary contests and judged national culinary competitions. She is a long-time member of the National Association of Food Editors. She is remembered as “a household name—she knew how to connect with readers.”