2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Gean B. Atkinson

Inducted: 2010

GEAN B. ATKINSON (1944- ) has held senior level military, business and political positions in journalism. A native of Blytheville, Ark., he has written three books and hosted programs on WKY and KTOK radio. An advertising agency owner, he also served in the Oklahoma Legislature and as a governor’s communications director. A decorated Vietnam veteran of the U.S. Marine Corps, he was director of the Joint Information Bureau of the United Arab Emirates during Operation Desert Shield/Storm as a Navy captain. Atkinson has been corporate communications director for Express Personnel Services and a journalism instructor at the University of Central Oklahoma where he earned two journalism degrees.

Gean B. Atkinson
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall