Jack Stone

Inducted: 2010

JACK STONE (1937- ) worked for The Anadarko Daily News for 38 years until his retirement as executive editor in 1996. Born in Byars, OK, he graduated from Capitol Hill High School and earned a journalism degree from Oklahoma Baptist University. He joined The Daily News as an intern in the advertising staff  for three years. He covered cops for The Tulsa Tribune for seven months before returning to Anadarko. More than 7,000 of his columns, “The Cornerstone,” appeared in The Daily News for 30 years. His writing earned many awards from numerous state, community, educational and civic groups, including the Oklahoma Press Association’s Beachy Musselman Award. He served on a multitude of community boards and activities, serving as chairman or president of several.