2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

John A. "Andy" Rieger

Inducted: 2010

JOHN A. “ANDY” RIEGER (1957- ), The Norman Transcript’s managing editor, has worked on Oklahoma newspapers for more than 30 years. Born in Norman, he graduated from Norman High School and earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees from OU. In high school, he was a Transcript carrier, mailroom and switchboard employee; in college, he worked at The Oklahoma Daily. He joined the Oklahoma City Times copy desk, moving to police and city hall reporting beats and editing a community section. He left to co-found a weekly newspaper in Noble and attend graduate school.  He was an assistant professor and faculty adviser to the student newspaper at the OU School of Journalism. Rieger is chairman of the advisory committee of the Ethics in Journalism Foundation.

John A. "Andy" Rieger
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall