2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Mike Boettcher

Inducted: 2010

MIKE BOETTCHER (1954- ), veteran network foreign and war correspondent, began his broadcasting career in his native Ponca City for WBBZ Radio. One decade later, he helped launch 24-hour news in 1980 when he performed the first live satellite report for fledgling CNN. In between, he worked for Oklahoma City stations KEBC, KTOK, and KWTV as a political and investigative reporter. He worked for NBC, covering international news on several fronts before rejoining CNN where he has been embedded as a war correspondent in the Mideast. As chief correspondent for CNN’s terrorism investigation unit, a team he created, Boettcher was awarded a Peabody, his third of four National Emmys and a National Headliner award. He attended the University of Oklahoma, and returned there as a visiting professor in 2009 after a one year embed in Iraq and Afghanistan during which he reported for ABC, BBC and The Oklahoman.

Mike Boettcher
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall