2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Arnold Hamilton

Inducted: 2011

ARNOLD HAMILTON (1958- ) became editor of The Oklahoma Observer in 2006, after a 32-year career in daily newspapers. He was Oklahoma bureau chief for the Dallas Morning News for 18 years, covering the 1995 Oklahoma City bombing, interviewing Timothy McVeigh twice, and riding out Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans. Much of his work has focused on politics and government, covering state capitols in Oklahoma, Texas and California. He twice won the Dallas Press Club Katie Award for reporting excellence. In 1997 he received the Fran Morris Civil Liberties in Media Award from the ACLU Oklahoma Foundation. He also worked for the San Jose Mercury News, the Dallas Times Herald, the Tulsa Tribune and Oklahoma Journal. Born in St. Louis, he was raised in Midwest City. He earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of San Francisco and a master’s in political science from OSU. 

Arnold Hamilton
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall