2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Jim Standard

Inducted: 2011

JIM STANDARD (1940-2010) rose from a junior reporter and obit writer for the Oklahoma City Times in 1960 to The Oklahoman’s executive editor during his 35-year career with the newspaper. Covering the assassination of President Kennedy, he witnessed the killing of Lee Harvey Oswald and was named Oklahoma “Newsman of the Year” for his coverage. He was senior reporter, state capitol bureau chief and columnist before becoming a Nieman Fellow at Harvard and returning to be city editor and assistant managing editor of The Times and The Oklahoman. In 1984 when the papers merged, he became executive editor, and then editorial page editor, and ended his career by writing a column, “Jim Standard’s Oklahoma.” A native of Little Rock, he attended the University of Arkansas and worked as reporter with the Arkansas Gazette in college and reporter at the Borger, Texas, News-Herald. After retirement, he founded churches in Italy and was pastor of the Atwood Baptist Church.

Jim Standard
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall