2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Larry R. Wade

Inducted: 2011

LARRY R. WADE (1939-2011) joined the staff of the Elk City Daily News as a cub reporter at age 13. He became co-publisher with his father in 1966 and publisher when his father died in 1972. He graduated from the University of Oklahoma School of Journalism in 1961 where he served as editor of the Oklahoma Daily. He received the school’s Benefactor Award, served on the executive board of the OU Alumni Association, and is a longtime member and served as chairman of the OU Board of Regents. He served on many Oklahoma Press Association committees and was OPA president in 1983. He received the OPA’s highest honor, the Milt Phillips Award in 1995. Active in the community, he’s been city commissioner and mayor, president of the chamber of commerce, United Fund and Kiwanis Club. He’s the founder of the Elk City Foundation and is a member of the Western Oklahoma Hall of Fame.

Larry R. Wade
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall