2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

James Coburn

Inducted: 2013

JAMES COBURN (1955- ) has served as reporter and photographer for The Edmond Sun since 1986. A native of Oklahoma City, flexibility is Coburn’s middle name, going from a passion as photographer to feature writer and then the city beat and state politics. He was one of the first on the scene of the Edmond Postal massacre, and one of the first at the Murrah bombing. His investigative pieces have included nursing homes, race relations, Alzheimer’s, death row, drunken driving, and the homeless. He writes annually about the Edmond HOPE center project, helping raise funds. He’s won two sweepstakes awards from AP, and first places from AP and SPJ. He won the American Cancer Society’s High Plains Media Award in 2008 and 2009. He won the Edmond Historical Society Historic Preservation Award as well as Photo of the Year from the Oklahoma Press Association. 

James Coburn
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall