Mary Mélon

Inducted: 2013

MARY MÉLON (1961- ), president and publisher of The Journal Record, was named publisher in 2001 after serving as advertising director and associate publisher beginning in 1995. She is a member of the senior management corporate team for The Journal Record’s parent company, the Dolan company, and serves as group publisher of daily group operations for five additional markets. Mélon earned a bachelor’s degree in journalism from OU in 1983. A member of the downtown Rotary Club, she was named Rotarian of the Year from 2003-2004. In 2004, she received the Association for Women in Communications Byliner Award. She was awarded the 2008 Embrace Award by the YWCA, for empowering women and eliminating racism and was inducted into the OCU Meinders School of Business Hall of Honor in 2012.