2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Oliver C. Murray

Inducted: 2013

OLIVER C. MURRAY (1941- ) joined the newsroom at WKY-TV (Now KFOR) in 1968 after serving in the Army, becoming the first African-American photojournalist in Oklahoma City. He held many positions including chief news photographer and production/operations manager in a 38-year career. He became a force in the newsroom as a role model for minorities and with the advent of electronic journalism, helping pioneer live news coverage, commanding the station’s and Oklahoma’s first “live truck.” He, Bob Dotson and George Wesley teamed to produce a documentary on black history in Oklahoma that won three Emmys. He covered the state capitol, the 1973 McAlester Prison riot, the 1977 Girl Scout murders and the 1995 Murrah building bombing. He was instrumental in starting the local chapter of the Association of Black Journalists.

Oliver C. Murray
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall