2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Tim Schnoebelen

Inducted: 2014

TIM SCHNOEBELEN (1944- ), a third-generation journalist, is publisher of the family-owned Mooreland Leader, where he began working at age 10 in the backshop. He wrote for the student newspaper at Northwestern State College (now NWOSU) and worked as a Linotype operator for the Oklahoma Daily at OU. He and his wife Karen returned to Mooreland in 1967 and took over ownership in 1972. He helped establish a central offset web printing plant at The Leader in 1986, printing as many as 18 weeklies. He served on numerous Oklahoma Press Association committees and received OPA’s highest award, the H. Milt Phillips award and the OU Regents’ Award. The Leader has won numerous awards, including five OPA Sequoyah awards as top weekly in its class. A retired volunteer firefighter, he has been active in several civic groups and was a member of the Mooreland Hospital and economic development boards.

Tim Schnoebelen
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall