2022 OJHF honorees announced • 52nd annual induction ceremony, Thursday, April 28

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Edward L. “Ed” Goodwin, Jr.

Inducted: 2015

EDWARD L. “ED” GOODWIN, JR. (1935-2014), editor and publisher of the historic Oklahoma Eagle in Tulsa, began working in his father’s paper as a paper carrier. He earned a journalism degree from Pittsburg State University in Kansas, and worked at other newspapers in Tulsa and Kansas City. “Born with a torch in his hand and heart,”  he was active in the civil rights movement in the 1950s and 1960s. Well-known for efforts in preserving and promotion of the historic Greenwood District, he spent tireless hours fighting for just causes. He was a pillar in the North Tulsa community, putting himself on the front line for economic, political and social justice in the city. 

Edward L. “Ed” Goodwin, Jr.
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, Ocober 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall