Watch the 2021 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame’s 50th Anniversary Induction Ceremony

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

James O. Goodwin

Inducted: 2015

JAMES O. GOODWIN (1939- ), publisher and editor of the historic Oklahoma Eagle since 1979, and attorney at law, serves on a multitude of civic boards and is a recipient of many awards, including Tulsa Press Club Print Icon Award. He was inducted into The University of Tulsa College of Law Hall of Fame. In 2003, he received the Lifetime Excellence Award with the East Regional Health Center in Tulsa, renamed The James O. Goodwin Health Center. A graduate of the University of Tulsa and Notre Dame, he successfully challenged before the U.S. Supreme Court the constitutionality of a state statute and before the Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals the constitutionality of a Tulsa city ordinance prohibiting freedom of speech and was co-counsel in the matter of reparation for victims of the 1921 Tulsa race riot. 

James O. Goodwin
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2022 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Sunday, Ocober 31, 2021.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall

A Voice to the Voiceless

A Voice to the Voiceless

The University of Central Oklahoma is a proud contributor to the ethos of ethical and engaged citizenry in our country. Fulfilling our mission to educate students to recognize truth and learn to reason, we answer the call to step into the stream of freedom we so...

read more