Watch the 2021 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame’s 50th Anniversary Induction Ceremony

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Joy “Tinker” Hruby

Inducted: 2015

JOY “TINKER” HRUBY (1966-2014), co-publisher of the Marlow Review and co-owner of the Comanche County Chronicle, was born in Kerrville, Texas. She and John Hruby were married there in 1989. She earned degrees from Schreiner University and an education degree from Cameron University. She taught second grade in Duncan and also worked in real estate, banking and as a private investigator. A Girl Scout, she was a scout leader, a member of the Jaycee Janes, and supported the Stephens County Humane Society. A homicide victim along with her husband and daughter Katherine, she worked with her husband to produce a quality newspaper and was active in both Marlow and Duncan. 

Joy “Tinker” Hruby
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2022 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Sunday, Ocober 31, 2021.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall