2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Bill Perry

Inducted: 2016

BILL PERRY (1950- ), Vice President of Content Production at OETA, had been a director, photographer, reporter and anchor at KTEN-TV in Ada by the time he graduated from East Central University in 1972. At KOCO-TV in the early 1970s, he anchored weekends and was a reporter. He has worked for KDFW-TV in Dallas; WAVE-TV in Louisville; WBBH-TV in Ft. Myers; and at WATE-TV in Knoxville. Returning to Oklahoma in 1986, he worked at KTEN and KAUT in Oklahoma City in advertising sales. He joined OETA in 1990 as news department Field Bureau Manager. Developing numerous documentaries with Emmy nominations and other awards, his work has earned eight regional Emmy Awards and two Western Heritage Wrangler Awards. As regional vice president of the Heartland Chapter Emmy Awards, he is responsible for bringing the annual Emmy Awards Gala to Oklahoma City. He has been inducted into the “Silver Circle” of the Heartland Emmy Chapter.

Bill Perry
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall