2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Kenneth O. Reid

Inducted: 2016

KENNETH O. REID (1926- ) was active in the ownership of ten Oklahoma newspapers before retiring in 1991. After graduating from OU in journalism in 1950, he was ad manager at the Claremore Progress for Ed Livermore Sr., Wheeler Mayo and Ed Burchfiel. In 1953 they bought the Pauls Valley Daily Democrat and he and Burchfiel soon bought the Wewoka Daily Times and Frederick Daily Leader. In 1962, the Pauls Valley Daily Democrat became Oklahoma’s first offset daily paper. In 1972 he bought the Weatherford Daily News, converting it to offset. He eventually bought the Vinita Daily Journal, the Nowata Star, the Perry Daily Journal, the Kingfisher Times and Free-Press and the Sand Springs Leader and Times. Reared in the first aboveground house in old Greer County, he attended Altus schools and served in the infantry in WWII. He served as district Rotary governor and president of the Oklahoma Press Association.

Kenneth O. Reid
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall