2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Virginia Bradshaw

Inducted: 2016

VIRGINIA BRADSHAW (1929- ), award-winning reporter for the Countywide & Sun since 2012, was a Chandler High School senior when a feature she wrote won her a Chandler News-Publicist job. Between freshman and sophomore years at OU, she worked brief periods at the Woodward Daily Press, Alva Review-Courier and Anadarko Daily News. She was the Oklahoma Daily society editor, hosted a women’s program on OU’s KUVY and after earning a BA in journalism, became St. Gregory’s College public information director/journalism teacher. She worked at the Norman Transcript; and 26 years as a Shawnee News-Star public affairs/general news reporter; and The Oklahoman covering Pottawatomie County. She met her late husband of 55 years, Jim Bradshaw (Hall of Fame, 1995) at the Shawnee News-Star when she asked him if he knew of any summer jobs. He didn’t, but asked her for a date. The author of two books, she is a member of the Oklahoma Press Association’s Quarter and Half Century clubs.

Virginia Bradshaw
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, October 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall