2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

James Beaty

Inducted: 2017

JAMES BEATY (1952- ), managing editor at the McAlester News-Capital, began there after graduation from East Central University in 1985. His reporting and writing, especially investigative journalism, have won a multitude of awards. He helped report and write a series exposing nepotism and other issues that led to the dismissal of the school superintendent in 2016. It earned six state and national awards, including a national SPJ first place in-depth enterprise reporting award, presented in Washington. He’s twice won AP sweepstakes awards for investigating city hall corruption, leading to the firing and resignation of two city managers. His weekly column, “Rambling Round” is a reader favorite, and has won national and state awards. Beaty was an artist-in-residence for the Oklahoma Arts and Humanities council in poetry and folk music. At East Central, he was editor of the literary magazine and won ECU’s Paul Hughes Award.

James Beaty
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall