2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

John Durkee

Inducted: 2017

JOHN DURKEE (1955- ), with more than 40 years of radio news experience, has been the dean of Tulsa’s radio news scene since 1989 when he joined KRMG, becoming news director in 1991. He was among the first to report on mine tailings pollution at Tar Creek, working with Congressman Mike Synar. In 2008 he served as communications director for the city of Tulsa before becoming news director of the University of Tulsa’s public radio station, KWGS in 2009. He’s a regular guest on RSU-TV public affairs programs. Tulsa Press Club named him the 2016 Media Icon. After attending Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College and OSU, he worked at KTOK in Oklahoma City, KAKC in Tulsa and KFSB in Joplin. Among Durkee’s many awards as a broadcaster, he’s twice won both regional and national RTDNA Murrow Awards, and awards from the AP, UPI, SPJ, and Oklahoma and Missouri associations of broadcasters.  

John Durkee
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall