2022 OJHF honorees announced • 52nd annual induction ceremony, Thursday, April 28

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Steve Booher

Inducted: 2017

STEVE BOOHER (1947-2017) began his 45-year community newspaper career as sports editor at the Winfield Daily Courier in 1969. He retired in 2014 after 34 years as general manager and publisher of the Cherokee Messenger & Republican. Booher worked as general manager of the Fairview Republican from 1971-1974, reporter at the Duncan Banner from 1974-75, managing editor at the Clinton Daily News from 1975-1979 and reporter at the Custer County Leader in 1979. Elected president of the Oklahoma Press Association in 2008, he led the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation and served on numerous OPA committees. Awards include the OPA Beachy Musselman Award. As a graduate of the “Larry Hammer school of journalism,” he was proud of his editorial writing awards. Active in community organizations, he was named Cherokee Citizen of the Year in 1995. The Cherokee Chamber of Commerce honored him with a Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013.

Steve Booher
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2023 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Monday, Ocober 31, 2022.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall