2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Barbara Hoberock

Inducted: 2018

BARBARA HOBEROCK (1966- ) is the Tulsa World’s Capitol Bureau chief, the longest-serving Oklahoma statehouse reporter and dean of the Capitol Press Corps. Hoberock covers the state Legislature, governor, state agencies, appellate courts and elections. She began her professional career at the Claremore Daily Progress as a general assignment reporter before joining the Tulsa World in 1990. She covered education before being transferred in 1994 to the state Capitol. She was part of a team covering the 1995 bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building and the criminal trials of Timothy McVeigh and Terry Nichols. Her coverage of medical conditions in state prisons contributed to a decision by the legislature to appropriate millions of dollars to correct deficiencies. Her reporting has shaped public policy in the state. She is a graduate of Oklahoma State University, where she served as opinion editor of the campus newspaper, The O’Collegian. 


Barbara Hoberock
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall