2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Berry Tramel

Inducted: 2018

BERRY TRAMEL (1961- ) joined The Daily Oklahoman in 1991 and has served as beat writer, assistant sports editor, sports editor and columnist. He began at the Norman Transcript in 1978, where his first assignment was the Lexington-Elmore City high school football game. He is a six-time winner of Oklahoma’s Sportswriter of the Year, has won five Dallas Press Club Katie Awards and other individual national AP Sports awards. He is part of a staff that won the AP Sports Grand Slam award four times in six years. He is one of the major chroniclers of Oklahoma sports history, in his 2007 Oklahoma Centennial series on the “100 greatest” athletes, venues, games/events, coaches/contributors, and teams in state sports history. He is part of The Sports Animal’s daily Total Dominance Hour on WWLS radio. The Norman native is also known for his stories in the aftermath of the Oklahoma City bombing and May 3, 1999, tornado outbreak.


Berry Tramel
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall