2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Ray Lokey

Inducted: 2018

RAY LOKEY (1953-2017) was a third-generation newspaper publisher who followed his grandfather, E.R. Lokey, and father, John Lokey at the Johnston County Capital-Democrat in Tishomingo. He began as a newspaper boy on his 11th birthday. After being editor of the high school newspaper Indian Tales, he entered the University of Oklahoma as a McMahon Scholar, earning a B.A. in journalism in 1977. He earned his M.A. in education/English from Southeastern Oklahoma State University in 1983, where he also served as news editor for The Southeastern. Before returning to his newspaper in Tishomingo, he taught English at Marietta High School and was public information officer at Murray State College where he advised The Aggielite. He was named Johnston County Chamber of Commerce’s 2002 Citizen of the Year. Active in the Oklahoma Press Association, he served as president in 2003, and received OPA’s highest honor, the Milt Phillips Award, in 2014. He published the Johnston County Capital-Democrat from 1990 until his death.


Ray Lokey
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall