2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Brian Blansett

Inducted: 2019

BRIAN BLANSETT (1952- ), a native of Fitzhugh, knew as a third-grader that he wanted to be a newspaperman and he considered himself among the highly fortunate for getting to live his boyhood dream. He won a variety of writing, reporting and photography awards, including the Oklahoma Press Association’s sweepstakes award for best editorial in 2015. He was city editor at the Waco, Texas, Tribune-Herald during the assault and siege at the Branch Davidian compound in 1993 and directed his newspaper’s award-winning coverage of the events. He retired in 2014 but soon discovered he had no knack for it. Six months later he bought the Tri-County Herald newspaper in Meeker and turned it into a consistent Sequoyah Award winner. He taught as an adjunct at Baylor University and Oklahoma Baptist University and was elected to the North Rock Creek board of education. He is a graduate of Latta High School and East Central University, a past president of the Oklahoma Press Association and a veteran of the U.S. Air Force and the 45th Infantry.


Brian Blansett
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall