2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Timothy E. Talley

Inducted: 2019

TIMOTHY E. TALLEY (1952- ) has covered Oklahoma state government, politics and the courts for The Associated Press since 1995. He began his journalism career at radio stations WLCS-WQXY in Baton Rouge, La., in 1976 before moving to print journalism at the Plaquemine Post. He joined the Morning Advocate and State-Times in Baton Rouge in 1980, first as a general assignment reporter at the River Parishes bureau and then as the state courts reporter, where he was a two-time recipient of the Louisiana Bar Association’s top journalism prize. He co-authored the book “Freeze,” about the shooting death of a Japanese exchange student, published in Tokyo in 1993. He has covered the Oklahoma Legislature and state government since 1998 and was part of a team of reporters who covered the criminal trials of Oklahoma City bombing conspirators Timothy McVeigh and Terry Nichols. He was principally responsible for covering Nichols’ trial on Oklahoma murder charges in 2004. He is a graduate of Louisiana State University.


Tim Talley
Timothy E. Talley
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall