2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

B.A. Bridgewater

Posthumously Inducted: 2020-2021

B.A. BRIDGEWATER (1894-1964) may be the only person in the newspaper industry who, as a managing editor, hired himself to be a sports editor. “Bridge” held the Tulsa World position for 37 years and wrote a “Telling the World” column. In 1959, Oklahoma State University bestowed its only “Oklahoma Sports Writer” award to the “grand old man” of sports. In 1960, according to his obituary, OSU discontinued the award because “no one could follow Bridge.”

B.A. Bridgewater
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall