2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Helen Holmes

Posthumously Inducted: 2020-2021

HELEN HOLMES (1915-1997) wrote for newspapers, taught journalism, and was honored for her historical writing about Guthrie’s early days, work that was recognized by state leaders after her death. The former Guthrie mayor is a member of the U.S. Army Women’s Foundation and the Oklahoma Historians and Oklahoma Women’s halls of fame. 

Helen Holmes
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall