2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Marjorie Paxson

Posthumously Inducted: 2020-2021

MARJORIE PAXSON (1923-2017) was one of the first woman publishers in the country. She spent 42 years in the newspaper industry, serving as a writer and holding various editorial positions for United Press, Associated Press, Houston Post, Houston Chronicle, Miami Herald, and St. Petersburg Times. She continued to write columns for the Muskogee Phoenix after her retirement as publisher in 1986. She also served as national president for Women in Communications. 

Marjorie Paxson
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall