Watch the 2021 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame’s 50th Anniversary Induction Ceremony

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Yvette Walker

Inducted: 2020

YVETTE WALKER (1961- ), former news director at The Oklahoman, is assistant dean for student affairs at the University of Oklahoma’s Gaylord College. She has served on the Society of Professional Journalists national board and the FOI Oklahoma advisory board and is a member of the National Association of Black Journalists. She was the Edith Kinney Gaylord Journalism Ethics Chair at the University of Central Oklahoma. She has worked for medium to large news media in Indiana, Michigan, Missouri, and Texas.

Yvette Walker
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2022 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Sunday, Ocober 31, 2021.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall