2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Barbara Byrne Allen

Inducted: 2022

BARBARA ALLEN (1975- ) is an educator, editor and writer whose proudest achievements are the students she mentored. She began her career as a student at the O’Colly at Oklahoma State University where she graduated before founding the Tulsa World’s teen section, Satellite, in 1999. After getting her master’s degree at the University of Missouri, Allen returned to OSU in 2009, where she spent nine years as an adviser, adjunct professor, and eventually director of student media. In 2018, she assumed the editorship of poynter.org, before becoming director of college programming for Poynter.

Barbara Byrne Allen
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall