2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Bryan Painter

Inducted: 2022

BRYAN PAINTER (1964- ) His newspaper career spanned 32 years with the Enid News & Eagle (1982-87), Amarillo Globe-News (1987-91), and The Oklahoman (1991-2015). The Oklahoma State University alumnus covered the bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building, multiple tornadoes, 13 years of the National Finals Rodeo, the Country Music Hall of Fame induction of Reba McEntire, agriculture, and rural Oklahoma. He earned 17 national/regional awards, several state awards and the SPJ Oklahoma Lifetime Achievement Award. He is a Distinguished Service inductee of the Oklahoma Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame and serves on the Rodeo Historical Society Board of Directors.

Bryan Painter
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall