2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

J. Scott Cherry

Inducted: 2022

J. SCOTT CHERRY (1946- ) spent 50 years in the newspaper business following a stint with the Army in South Korea. The first 20 years were covering college sports at the Tulsa World and as assistant sports editor at the Tulsa Tribune. He started the Tribune food section before it closed in 1992. After rejoining the World, he was food editor, copy editor and page designer in the Living section, then spent 20 years as restaurant critic. He has bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Tulsa and in the 1980s taught journalism at Tulsa Junior College. He won numerous writing awards.

J. Scott Cherry
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall