2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Richard Dowdell

Inducted: 2022

RICHARD DOWDELL (1950- ) spent most of his career at KRMG Tulsa. Besides reporting for 37 years starting in 1975, he reported from Guatemala, Israel, Normandy, and national political conventions. Graduating from Tulsa University in 1972, he held jobs at KMOD, KRAV Tulsa, KWON Bartlesville, and KAFG Oklahoma City. His news career began in 1974 at KAKC Tulsa which led to KRMG news. During this time he also served a year reporting for OETA and taught news writing at Rogers State University. He has earned numerous honors from the AP, NCCJ, OAB, UPI, and an Edward R. Murrow Award.

Richard Dowdell
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall