2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member

Sam Jones

Inducted: 2022

SAM JONES (1943- ) is a broadcast product of Arkansas where he served as anchor for KATV-TV in Little Rock and later as prime anchor/reporters Monday-Friday at KTHV-TV. There, he learned to shine a light in dark corners. Later, he became prime co-anchor/reporter at Tulsa’s KJRH-TV. His work earned local, state and national awards including medals from the International Film and Television Festival of New York. Two of his documentaries were requested by and are now housed at the Smithsonian Museum in Washington. He retired from commercial television and took an anchor/reporting post in public broadcasting at RSU TV where he received two Emmy awards.

Sam Jones
How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall