2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Scholarships & Donors

Celebrating 53 Years of Excellence in Journalism

Through the generosity of the Oklahoma Press Association and the Brian Jay Walke Family, the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame annually selects students to receive a one-time scholarship. The Brian Jay Walke Scholarship honors students to display excellence in journalism ethics, and the Oklahoma Press Association Award is given to those who show outstanding promise in journalism.

UCO Office of the President

Voice to the Voiceless

The University of Central Oklahoma is a proud contributor to the ethos of ethical and engaged citizenry in our country. Fulfilling our mission to educate students to recognize truth and learn to reason, we answer the call to step into the stream of freedom we so fervently exercise and defend. The university provides an environment in which students can learn about and harness the power of journalism to shape a more just society without interference from the government. This is a right and a responsibility we must nurture with great care.

Patti Neuhold-Ravikumar
President, University of Central Oklahoma

Excellence in Journalism Ethics

Brian Jay Walke Scholarship

Jocelyn Schifferdecker
2022 Brian Jay Walke Scholarship Scholarship Recipient

Hannah Wager
2022 Brian Jay Walke Scholarship Scholarship Recipient

This scholarship is given in memory of award-winning Oklahoma journalist Brian Jay Walke. It was established in May 2011 by “members of his loving family … in deep appreciation for his outstanding journalism, dedication to the highest journalism ethics and selfless dedication to his family and community.”

Walke (1955-2010) was a journalist for KEBC-FM, KGOU-FM and KTOK-AM. He was a board member for FOI Oklahoma and served on the JayMac Board for the University of Oklahoma Gaylord College of Journalism.

Starting in 2021, because of the increased generosity of Brian Walke’s family, the scholarship will be given yearly to two outstanding students of high ethical standards.

2022 Scholar

Jocelyn Schifferdecker

Hannah Wager

Past Recipents

Amanda Siew – 2020
Emily Siddiqui – 2019
Shannon Iverson – 2018
Manuelle Arias – 2017
Addam Francisco – 2017
Griffin Ford – 2016
Alexander Fisher – 2015
Megan Mari – 2014
Ben Luschen – 2013
Sharon Burgess – 2012

Excellence for Outstanding Promise in Journalism

Oklahoma Press Association Award

Ainsley Martinez
2022 Oklahoma Press Association Award

The annual scholarship is provided annual through the generosity of the Oklahoma Press Association and its members.

It was established in 2013 and given to students based on nominations and who exhibit great promise in journalism.

2022 Award

Ainsley Martinez

Past Recipents

Jacob Silva – 2020
Michelle Pennza – 2019
Christian Tabak – 2018
Kateleigh Mills – 2017
Eriech Tapia – 2016
Queila Omena – 2015
Rachel Brockelhurst – 2014
Ben Luschen – 2013

A Special Thank You to Our

Partners & Sponsors

The Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame greatly appreciates those who donate, sponsor our events, or donate to the museum. Here are a few of our donors and sponsors:

Joan Gilmore,
in Al McLaughlin’s name

Inasmuch Foundation

Oklahoma Press Association

Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters

The family of Brian Jay Walke

Bob Burke

Bryon Gambulos, Steve Lackmeyer
& others, in memory of Mary Jo Nelson

The family of Ben Blackstock

Paul B. Southerland

Pam Olson

Mickey Clagg

David, Jeri, & Brian Hunter
on behalf of William & Francis Sexauer (original ’89ers)

Edward Livermore Jr.

Billie Rodely & Jim Palmer

 Sue & Mick Hinton

Richard Hefton

Russell Perry

Gene Triplett

Thomas Boone

Mary Hargrove

The Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame wishes to thank the University of Central Oklahoma, the office of the President, Academic Affairs and the Mass Communication Department for its continuing support.

Growing the Future of Journalists

Donations & Scholarships

The Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame seeks donations and sponsorships to enhance its standing as Oklahoma’s highest journalistic honor and in its outreach to grow future journalists.

You can donate to the hall of fame by sending a check made out to the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame to: Director, OJHOF, c/o UCO Mass Communication Dept., 100 N University Drive, Edmond, OK 73034.

If you want to sponsor the annual hall of fame gala, you will receive credit in our program, the day of the actual event and this website. You can also submit a donation in honor of a member who has passed away or for a journalist who is being inducted that year.

The hall of fame is always interested in expanding its reach to students though scholarships. Our current scholarships are the Brian Jay Walke Scholarship in Journalism Ethics and the Oklahoma Press Association Award for Outstanding Promise in Journalism. You can either donate to the current scholarship funds or create a new one.

For more information on sponsorships or creating scholarships, contact the director at 405-974-5924 or halloffame@uco.edu.

Dennie Hall Endowment Fund

The hall of fame supports efforts to raise funding through the University of Central Oklahoma Foundation. It also supports the Dennie Hall Endowment Fund, in memory of the longtime director. You can send donations c/o the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame or the Dennie Hall Endowment Fund to the UCO Foundation, 100 N University Drive, Evans Hall 101, Campus Box 133, Edmond, OK 73034.