Selection Process

 Selection of Honorees

Vintage trilby hat with a press cardHonorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees. Nomination forms can be found by going to the online form here. For more information, contact the hall of fame director at (405) 974-5122 or (Please note that email is the preferred way of contacting the director.)

The Selection Committee also has the discretion every year to select a Lifetime Achievement Award winner to an outstanding supporter of or contribution to journalism excellence in this state and country. The winner may or may have been nominated to the hall of fame.

Awards and Recognition

Each member receives an etched award plaque suitable for wall display and a biographical certificate of each year’s induction class members with their accomplishments. The biographical certificate of the honorees is displayed at the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame at UCO’s Nigh University Center. Duplicate copies of the biographical certificate are available for the honoree or his/her family. Names of honorees are announced early the year of the induction with an induction ceremony held each April or May. A news release announcing those honored each year is provided to state newspapers, broadcasting stations, magazines and college departments and schools of journalism. The UCO Department of Mass Communication is the host and administrator of the hall, with additional funding provided by UCO.

The Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame also provides scholarships to deserving journalism students. Those scholarship winners as well as the Lifetime Achievement Award winner are recognized on plaques in the hall of fame office in UCO’s Nigh University Center.

The Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame is made possible because of the generous support of the UCO President’s and Academic Affairs offices, the UCO Mass Communication Department, the Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation, the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation and hall of fame members.