2023 induction ceremony to include 10 journalists and 2 Lifetime Achievement honorees

Visit Us    Events

Explore our gallery of Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame members. Learn about how to make a nomination.

Hall of Fame Member


the Lifetime Achievers

By Emily Siddiqui, Student Editor

Journalistic endeavors would not be effective without the support and leadership of fellow truth-seeking, world-changing individuals within the community. 

The Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame has extended its reach of recognition by deciding to grant up to two Lifetime Achievement Awards each year. The award honors outstanding individuals whom the Selection Committee deems worthy, even though they may not have been journalists themselves or spent their entire careers in journalism.  

“The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to individuals who have steadfastly emulated the values and principles of journalists through their work in the community or through leading initiatives that train or support journalists, future generations of journalists, or the Hall of Fame itself,” said Joe Hight, Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame Director. 

The first Lifetime Achievement Award was given in 1992 as a “Certificate of Merit” to Windsor Ridenour for his leadership in 28 years of service to journalism just before the Tulsa Tribune closed in September 1992. The Hall of Fame’s Executive Committee decided in 2019 to credit Ridenour with a Lifetime Achievement Award. 

The Lifetime Achievement Award was officially initiated in 2018 with the naming of Dr. Joe Foote as the recipient. 

How to Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

Honorees are selected by a committee comprised of hall of fame members, including its director, and distinguished leaders in journalism. The Selection Committee considers all nominations, both new ones and those held over from previous years, before selecting the honorees.

The 2024 Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame nominee submission deadline is Tuesday, October 31, 2023.

Keep up with our Latest News

E-mail Updates

Sign up to get the latest in Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame news.

Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

News from the Hall